top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Figli Dei Fiori


Figli Dei Fiori (translation: 'hippies')

Como


Yesterday we stopped by Lake Como on the way back from the airport after dropping my Mum off (I know - I am aware how ridiculous that sounds!) I had never been to Como before but it’s not hard to see why George Clooney has fallen in love with it.









Unfortunately Jude didn’t share the love after having spent most of the morning stuck in some kind of seat (ironic when this would be his Mama's idea of heaven.)


But he was slightly happier after we gave him a little run about in a playground near to the carpark where he spent most of his time posting bloody stones through gaps in the benches rather than paying any interest in the much sought after baby swings and giant plastic - if searingly hot - dinosaurs. We also fed him a hastily put together picnic of leftover quiche, bread & philadelphia, and fruit. Gourmet.



Thankfully we were fortunate to not have to eat leftover quiche, having booked a table at Figli dei Flori Bistrot on the way to the airport. I always love it when places have an online booking facility - especially now when my Italiano is lacking in both vocabulary and flair!


My New Favourite Place


Anyway, I have been following this place on Instagram for a while now and have been determined to go. It is all my insta-dreams come true and I am positive you will feel the same.


When you enter the gates to Figli dei Fiori, to the right there is a beautiful florist’s, with an impeccable eye for design, and you will find the bistrot on the left. It’s so gorgeous, you almost feel you have to whisper!



It’s not the most toddler friendly place but we were definitely going for some quality adult time and Jude usually naps well during the daytime (although there was a hideous - and thankfully thwarted - moment when he cried out and we thought we were going to have to abandon our meal!) The staff were very accommodating though and found us a space in the outside courtyard where the pram could fit.



Grub's up!


We had decided to share a starter and dessert and have a main and a glass of wine each... and the menu was amazing. It was so hard to narrow down our choices. I could have eaten it all. Or at least would have given it a damn good go. Crikey - a tasting menu here would be a thing of perfection.


We started with the burrata. I have no words here - I mean, just look at it. It was on toasted bread which technically makes it cheese on toast I suppose but what a work of art. It tasted as good as it looks.



For mains we went for steak (Mr W) and lamb (me) as in Switzerland these things would be double the price and you can’t take the Yorkshire out of the gal when there is a bargain to be had.


The portions were generous so I was glad we’d shared a starter, but every mouthful was delicious; the meat was perfectly cooked. Vegetarians are very well catered for here though too - so don’t be put off by that juicy meat!





Dessert was a creme brûlée. I always think you can tell a lot about a place by the quality of their creme brûlée and this was among the best we’ve had. We were lucky to get our hands on it just before the kitchen closed.



Not only is the food here divine, but the whole place is an incredible experience and beautifully relaxing. I have never been anywhere quite like it. The attention to the tiniest detail is wonderful and although we sat outside in the summer, I can imagine one of the beautifully curated spaces inside will be just as magical in the winter.


In fact, it is a bit of a special birthday for me this year in December (ouch - please don't ask how old...) and I think I have just decided where I’d like to go.


If you are visiting Como anytime soon, this place is a must! If not, just give them a follow on Instagram anyway. Their feed will leave you swooning - promise.


Hope you've had a lovely weekend,


R xx

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page