top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Recipe - Oaty Bites


Snack Time


Since moving here it has become apparent that I need to start upping my snack game.


We brought vast amounts of Organix baby snacks and those blueberry rice wafer things with us. I had bought them last minute just in case they didn't sell them in Switzerland. I didn't really believe that I wouldn't be able to find them here, but as it turns out - I actually can't. There are a few equivalents but they aren't the same, so here I am getting my bake on.


First up, are these oaty bites. They could not be simpler to make, and unfortunately are actually quite palatable with a cup of tea. I may have eaten 3 today alone.


If you fancy having a go at them yourself, here's the recipe. They'd be ideal for BLW too, just leave out the honey:



Ingredients

1 ripe banana

1 large egg

150g oats

Handful blueberries, chopped

Tea spoon cinnamon

Tablespoon honey (you can safely leave this out if you are baking these for someone under the age of one)


Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees.

  2. Mash banana until smooth, then whisk in egg and cinnamon.

  3. Add in oats and chopped blueberries, and honey if using and stir well to combine.

  4. Using about a tablespoon of mix at a time, roll the mixture into balls and place evenly on a greased or lined baking tray. Flatten the tops slightly so that they are about 1cm thick.


You'll then need to bake these until the tops become golden and firm to the touch, which will take about 15-20 minutes. They don't need to be completely hard at this stage as they will firm slightly on cooling.


Would love to know if you end up making these - think I'm going to try them with raisins or raspberries next time. They might even be quite nice with a little bit of Nutella stirred through the mix but then I suppose that would defeat the object of trying to keep them healthy. Story of my life!


Anyway, enjoy...


Rxx




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page